Back - Forward - Old

Me Myself and I
101 ~ ART ~ DEEPER ME ~ TATS ~ MYSPACE

D-land Crap
Notes ~ Profile ~ Surveys

Places To Go
The Edge
Political Test
creat a nation
People To Read...
jj
the-moo
onewetleg
salazabr
p00h
smarmy-elf
devian
wench77
idiot-milk
littlelloyd
contepartiro
porktornado
ozmodiar
pterals
savecraig
mutantdragon
theswordsman
my-temple
b0b0-dreams
fish-tale

uffdah

Wow, what a weekend! Of corse, my kidneys and elbows and shins and stomach are still a little pissed off about it, but I had fun.

Saturday afternoon I headed down to Prarie Island State Park for the 2005 Cider Fest. Roughly 15 folks entered their homemade cider. There was a tasting and then the votes were tallied. My friend Margret won first place, some guy from a band won second that I didnt know and 3rd place went to my friend Sarah.

Next there were challenges and competitions all involving cider guzzling and bike riding and fire breathing etc. After that the Food Not Bombs organization threw a vegan buffet that was perrty darn tasty. Next the bands started up. Seven total. It was hard to tell most of them apart, being punk rock and all, but a couple of them had a unique style that I enjoyed. I just dont like the screaming, I have no idea what you are saying, loud, punk rock... I mean, its alright... for a minute or two.

The bands played until midnight and then we had to vacate the park. Apparently the police dont appreciate naked people juggling fire past the park closed time. Arrrr. Bastards.

So, I loaded my van up with as many drunken passed out punks and hippies as it could hold (they were in no condition to ride their bikes the hour trip back) And we ended up at an after party that was laid back at first, (I think everyone was just trying to get a second partying wind and warm their fingers and toes back up) then the party got going pretty hard. There must have been 100 people crammed into this upstairs half of a house- at least half the folks from the cider fest. Loud music, tons of cider and various other poisons that are like duh at a party that big. I behaved myself very well though. Well, in regards to poisons that is- I did not at any time partake in the 40 or 50 bongs, one hitters and rollies that were passed by me. I did feel the pull several times, but reminded myself of what an ugly mess this summer was for me. So... just booze thank you.

I started the night off with a liter of rum in my backpack and many beers.... but found that cider was just so damn tasty. So, I pawned the rum off in exchange for swigs of cider from people. Actually, a swig of rum followed by a swig of cider is quiet tasty.

Well, things were going well and the party was getting crazy ( lots of inappropriate behavior, strange sights and loud chaos) when the law showed up again. Dirty bastards they are! The party scattered and I found myself at another party down the street and around the corner. That one was a bit smaller but just as fun. I knew a handful of people at each one. Actually, it was weird, I went with Sarah, Margret and Asher, but at the cider fest hooked up with a group of old friends I hadnt seen since high school!!! It was nuts- and great!

Anyways, around 8 in the morning the parties started to die and I felt sober enough to drive home. I drove towards home, but got a call to met someone from the cider fest for coffee and breakfast,( one of the friends from high school), he didnt stay around for the after parties, as such had gotten sleep, unlike me, but I went anyways. Had a great time as we swapped stories from the last 10 years of our lives that had pasted since we saw each other last. It was so bizarre.

Round noon I managed to get all the way to the house. Bathed the dirt and twigs and beer and god knows what else from my hair and body .. then crashed and slept until this morning. Uggggg... I feel all new again. I imagine my body will need some recouping this week. But hey- it was the last big bash of the year. Now winter will begin to claim all the fun from the air. So, I lived it up like it didnt matter.

So.. accomplished this weekend...
Met some really cool and very nice people.
Learned all about cider making.
Remembered how to mosh(mind you at the cost of many bruises and gashes) .
Laughed my ass off many times.
Sang with people round the fire.
Ran from the party poopin cops twice.
Listened to and met some cool musicians.
Found that I still know how to party- arrr.
And re-met someone amazing that may make a difference and impact on my life in the near future.

So ya... great great wonderfully fun and crazy weekend.


Leave me a NOTE :)



Oct 20, 2005






"Om Mani Padme Hum"




"Experience is a hard teacher - she gives you the test before the lesson."




"Be who you are and say what you feel because people who mind dont matter and people who matter dont mind."




"A smooth sea never made a skilled mariner"




"Do not look where you fell, but where you slipped."




"One must know that there is a path at the end of the road."




"Knowledge without courage is sterile."




"Do not injure what you can not kill."




"Life is short you say?- It is the longest thing we ever do."




"All victory breeds hate."




"Animosity does not eradiacate animosity"




"There is a difference between knowing the path, and walking the path."




"Time is what prevents everything from happening at once."




Template by ME

Locations of visitors to this page

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com